I Remember

I Remember

I remember your hair

How it shimmered in the sun

I remember in your company

How I used to be fun

 

I remember leaving all

Just to be with you

I remember your motivation

Made me feel like, a me new

 

I remember you I told

How scared I was of love

I remember you responding

We’re alike like a glove

 

I remember in your presence

How I felt especially loved

I remember when you ignored me

In my face, my love you shoved

 

I remember our frank talk

About how that made me feel

I remember your acknowledgement

Then on me you’d turn your heel

 

I remember your indifference

Pushed me to a dark place

I remember thinking you’d return

You just needed some space

 

I remember you in trouble

I was caring and always there

I remember you in need

Before asking I’d always share

 

I remember you choosing others

Frequently in place of me

I remember them betraying you

Again a place for me there’d be

 

I remember you leaving

You promised never to forget

I remember it wasn’t too long

Before I learnt what I regret

 

I remember you now and whilst

I feel love in my heart

I remember your abandonment

Literally tore me apart

 

I remember you and recall

My transformation rather gaunt

I remember you like a friend

Like whom I never want

 

4 thoughts on “I Remember

Leave a Reply

